Body image anxieties and the dreaded locker room shower!

Guest Site By: Anonymous
Body Image Fears At The Gym Showers
My first experience with social nudity and being naked in a public setting was a lot less extreme than I would have initially believed. I was dreading this day for all my life. The day when I ‘d need to undress to be able to shower nude in my own physical education class. I understood there was no getting around it, like it or not, I might have to confront my fears!
This is one of my biggest fears
When the awful day finally arrived I was really surprised to realize that other men were shy about the encounter also. In fact, some guys decided to merely avoid showering entirely. As I first started walking out of the lockers, I felt as if all the eyes were on me and I could feel my heart pounding and my legs shaking. I kept my eyes off of other folks and proceeded to head to the shower. The entire time I focused just on my showering and tried to discount the fact that other nude guys were showering with me.
After awhile I started to feel http://nudismsite.com/tube/it-was-our-first-time-at-any-nudist-facility-2/ showering nude in my own physical education class. I was even able to support one among my friends who was afraid of showering nude in front of other folks that it was not so poor. Eventually it got to some stage where showering naked was no longer an issue in the slightest. I accepted the fact that everyone is naturally nude and that people come in all shapes and sizes. I recognized that we shouldn’t have these man-made impositions of being naked in front of other folks be such a big deal. Everyone should learn to feel comfortable with their body together with accepting the bodies of others when they are nude. I realized that my body image issues and anxiety of being naked was simply a fear that I had to get past.
Hey If Doogie Can Be Happy Nude 🙂
Now that I can shower naked comfortably in a public setting, I no further feel a feeling of being uneasy when I am naked. Becoming past my fear of being nude is among the best things that I could have perhaps done for my self esteem. I was even able to play on sports teams also, something I had previously feared because of the fact that I may experienced to shower nude with my teammates.
I am certain that many young lads share the same fears. The only piece of advise I could give is that, at the conclusion of the day, no one really cares. I understand it really is hard to believe and the occasional locker room trash talk is inescapable. But with that said, almost every single individual in the world wishes they could change something about just how they look.
Naturism, I feel, is an important movement. Not for seeing others nude but instead to instruct us that accepting others is one of greatest things we can do. I actually believe that if more people were open to trying nudism the world would be much better off! At least for me, it helped with my Body Image Panics.
This post about body image fears was printed by Young Naturists and Nudists America – FKK

Tags: body image
Class: Body Image Blogs, Social Activism
About the Author (Author Profile)
Guest blogs written solely for Naturist Portal.

